jump to navigation

Jazakum Allahu khair! August 7, 2008

Posted by ibn1brahim in Islam.
trackback

Bismillah. Alhamdulillah. Was-salatu was-salamu ala Rasulillah.

The purpose of this blog was to get myself and others closer to Allah. If you have benefitted, then alhamdulillah, and let’s pray that Allah keeps us sincere to Him. A few closing remarks..

I remind myself and my brothers and sisters in Islam that we have duties to fulfill towards Allah (al-fara’id: obligatory duties), worshipping Him in sincerity. Let’s maintain our 5 daily prayers and our other obligations to Allah. We ask Allah to give us sabr to maintain consistency and to forgive us for our shortcomings. Also, I advice myself and you to maintain a normal schedule for ibaadaat (acts of worship), however small they may be, in order to get closer to Allah and gain knowledge of His deen. For example, 30 minutes before every Asr prayer, you will read 1/2 juz of the Qur’an or it’s translation, or you will read a few pages of Riyadus Saliheen and the translation.

Next, I would like to encourage myself and you to make the following du’a everyday after Fajr, as a reminder and asking for Allah’s assistance in this:

“O Allah! I ask You for knowledge which is beneficial and sustenance (rizq) which is good (tayyib; pure), and deeds which are acceptable.”

If a person were to memorize 1000 ahadith and not strive to act upon the knowledge gained, or if a person were to pray 1000 nawafil and not strive to have sincerity of intention, then these would be a source of regret on the Day of Judgement. Even the 40 ahadith of Imam an-Nawawi (ra) contain sufficient enough advice to benefit from. We will have shortcomings, but we ask Allah to keep us sincere and always trying to better ourselves.

Also, we should seek help from Allah with salatul-istikharah for important decisions we want to make, and if things get tough in life or we come across a difficulty to say the following du’a, continue to work hard and put our trust in Allah’s plan as long as we fulfill our duties towards Him:

“To Allah we belong and unto Him is our return. O Allah, recompense me for my affliction and replace it for me with something better.”

And Allah has promised to replace it with something better.

Also, in addition to fulfilling the rights towards Allah (and the rights that our body has on us, e.g. to keep ourselves healthy and strong), we should remember to have good akhlaq/character/behavior towards other people (i.e. the creation of Allah) and we will be accountable on the Day of Judgement with regards to our behavior with others. And I want to take this time to ask forgiveness for any wrongs I’ve done or said.

It really and truly scares me to be giving this advice because I am aware of my many shortcomings, but I hope we can be a support for each other to act upon the good and refrain from evil. And once a teacher and friend of mine told me: “The best way to learn is to teach.” Therefore, at times we’re not the best to give the advice, but it pushes us to improve ourselves.

Be a benefit to Islam through whatever service you can contribute. You don’t have to be a carbon copy of another, sit and think about what you can do and who you can reach out to. Give da’wah and be patient, as Luqman advised his son:

“O my son, establish prayer, enjoin what is right, forbid what is wrong, and be patient over what befalls you. Indeed, [all] that is of the matters [requiring] determination.”
[Luqman: 17]

I just wanna say jazakum Allahu khair to all the viewers for the past few months. There will be no regular posts for now.. stay tuned for future productions.. until next time, inshaAllah! And Ramadan Mubarak to you, inshaAllah!

Wa sallAllahu ala sayyidinaa Muhammad wa ala aalihi wa sahbihi wa sallam.

Your brother in Islam,
Khalil ibn Ibrahim

Comments»

1. Rania Abuisnaineh - May 24, 2010

Khalil Ibn Ibrahim, may Allah reward you brother. Masha’Allah this is an amazing blog. I’ve learned a lot reading through it.

Looking forward to your future posts…

Jazaakum Allahu Khayran Wassalamu Alaykum.

Rania Abuisnaineh

PS: Sorry for raiding your site with comments–I’m just super excited to see another Islamic blog that contributes to the education of our Muslim Ummah-not to mention your posts about Almaghrib…Great stuff!

2. ibn1brahim - May 28, 2010

Wa iyak. I appreciate the feedback and hope Allah gives you success with your da’wah and blogging endeavors.


Leave a comment